An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Chief of Staff, USCYBERCOM

Rear Admiral Dennis Velez, USN

Rear Adm. Dennis Velez is a native of Adjuntas, Puerto Rico. He is a 1992 graduate of the United States Naval Academy with a Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering.  He also earned a master's degree in Information Technology Management from Touro University in 2004.
At sea, Velez completed tours aboard USS Stout (DDG 55), USS Carr (FFG 52), USS Gettysburg (CG 64), and USS Donald Cook (DDG 75). He served on afloat staffs with Commander, U.S. Second Fleet/Striking Fleet Atlantic aboard USS Mount Whitney (LCC 20) and as the deputy commander for  Destroyer Squadron Fifteen in Japan. He was the commanding officer of USS Fitzgerald (DDG 62) and USS San Jacinto (CG 56).  

Ashore, Velez served as officer in charge of Western Hemisphere Group Caribbean Area Coordinator; Surface Placement branch head, Head Junior Surface Warfare Distribution, Assistant Captain detailer and deputy director for Surface Warfare Distribution at Naval Personnel Command; Joint Staff  Strategic Plans and Policy Directorate as chief, North East Asia Division and assistant director for Political-Military Affairs, Asia. He was the senior military assistant to the 76th Secretary of the Navy.  

As a flag officer Velez served as Commander for Navy Recruiting Command, Commander of Carrier Strike Group Ten/George H.W. Bush Carrier Strike Group, and Director of Plans and Policy (J5), United States Cyber Command.  Velez was inducted in the Puerto Rico Military Hall of Fame in November 2021 and is the recipient of the Navy League's 2016 John Paul Jones Award for Inspirational Leadership.  His personal military decorations include the Defense Superior Service Medal, Legion of Merit, Meritorious Service Medal, the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal, and the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal.  He is most proud of his appointment as an honorary Chief Petty Officer.

(Current as of June 2024)